Top 5: Tips for Travelling

Top-5-Tips-for-Travelling-2

With summer on its way and the New Year in sight, now is the perfect time to plan your holidays. I was lucky enough to travel to Scotland and England for 6 weeks this year and it was one of the best experiences of my life.  To say the least, I’ve caught the travel bug. After I got back and re-told my awesome stories, I realised that I have learnt a fair few tips for travelling, so here’s my top 5.

1. Keep a diary of how much you are spending:
I can’t stress enough how much this will help you, especially if you are going to be overseas for a long period of time. Work out how much spending money you have each day ($100NZD is a good guide to work around).  Then take note on how much you actually spend each day. It will be a big help in the long run! If you can see that you spent a little less some days, when it comes to the shopping days you can go a little crazier. This way you won’t get to the end of your trip and be scraping together some cash, and you can still indulge on those got-to-have-it necessities!

2. Make a list of items you want to buy:
Coming from New Zealand means there are going to be a lot of brands that you will be able to get your hands on when you are overseas. And the shops in America and the UK can get a little overwhelming , did anyone say shoe level? It’s fine to have some fun and spend the money you saved up so long for, but if there is a particular Zara bag or Nars blush that you have been lusting after for ages, write it down and make sure you buy it. Trust me, you don’t want to come home to realise you bought a whole bunch of stuff you like, but nothing you’d been dreaming of finally owning.

3. Research, Research, Research:
When travelling to big cities, there are so many different activities you can do, with multiple providers. Before you go, do a bit of research and look in to what the top attractions are for each city you’re going to, it could even be places you want to shop or eat. Find out what different companies offer similar trips and work out what one you like the sound of the most. Make a list of your top 5 activities and take it along with you. Then once you get to your destination, plan them out. In big cities like London, New York or Paris it is easy to get lost in the hype and wonder around for days, which can be fun! But just make sure you do some of the activities you planned to do #noregrets.

4. Buy Duty Free before you fly:
If you are planning on picking up some goodies Duty Free then seriously consider buying them online before you fly, I wish I had of! By the time you get off the plane and find your next departure gate there can often by not a lot time to find what you need. I went duty free shopping on my way back to NZ but by then I was so tired that I rushed around trying to find what I wanted and ended up buying the wrong perfume for my sister. If you’ve got particular products in mind, head to http://www.dutyfreestores.co.nz/ and purchase them there, without the added stress of not wanting to miss your flight. I’m definitely going to do this next time I fly!

5. Relax, have fun!
You’ve saved up all your pennies and now it’s time to get on the plane and make some unforgettable memories! Don’t stress, some things won’t run as smoothly as you would of hoped but that’s all part of the fun. Make sure you see the sights you’ve always wanted to, but do some spontaneous outings as well. Make friends with locals and other tourists along the way. And have the time of your life!

If you’re considering going abroad, do it! There are some great specials over on Webjet at the moment so what are you waiting for? 

Maebelline-sign-off-2

Leave a comment